Everyone is missing the question....lol...hiabuckeye wrote:Good explanantion.
Over and back rule would be good to explain also for the fans. Most don't understand it.
Over AND back....
Everyone is missing the question....lol...hiabuckeye wrote:Good explanantion.
Over and back rule would be good to explain also for the fans. Most don't understand it.
Is there a minimum distance behind the line that the inbounding player must have to inbound from that spot around the perimeter of the floor that if there is not that distance, they can be moved to a place where that distance is available? When there is only maybe a foot between the line and the bench players behind, that isn't enough room to really keep the whole ball behind the line while throwing it in. Can the spot be moved or the defneder asked to step back to give additional room?blockcharge wrote:As Hoppy said jump ball. Also the 3 feet is side to side not back, the player who is throwing in the ball can back out to the parking lot if the wall doesn't stop him. There is no warning for reaching over the line and touching the ball it is an automatic technical. Don't confuse live ball dead ball with the clock running.
If you can safe a ball from going out with being in the air--wouldn't this be about the sameHoppy wrote:Here is another play for everyone.
Player A one is in her/his frontcourt. He/she throws the ball to a team member who has jumped from team A's backourt and catches the ball when still in the air, over and back or not?
In most Gyms, the player throwing the ball in has plenty of room between the inbounds line and the wall behind them.If this is the case the player that is doing the guarding is allowed to be at the inbounds line and would have the right to grag the ball if the inbounds player extends the ball in play. In gyms where they don't have three feet [or they allow people to stand in this area] the ref has the right to demand the player in play to stand back. So it could go either way, depending on the room the player thats inbounding has.md2020 wrote:The ball is in play but at the disposal of the out of bounds player? This player has 5 seconds to initiate a play making all players eligible to participate. Same as fout shot. 10 seconds and no one can enter the lane or interfere with the free throw until the shooter initiates the play. Obviously a judgement call by the official as a lot of calls are. I will not bet my SSA on it but I think a ref seeing the ball being grabbed by a defensive player while it is still in the hands of the player out of bounds will give a warning for encroachment. Not certified IMO.
Please be careful. Both feet and the ball in the front court only applies when dribbling the ball. For a player to establish front court status while not dribbling the ball, involves touching the front court with a hand or foot while no other part of the body is in contact with the backcourt. It doesn't require both feet in the front court.yellowjacket wrote:Hoppy wrote:Here is another play for everyone.
Player A one is in her/his frontcourt. He/she throws the ball to a team member who has jumped from team A's backourt and catches the ball when still in the air, over and back or not?[/quo
yes this is over and back.you have to establish yourself in the frontcourt by having both feet on the frontcourt.back to the taking the ball out of bounds if it is a jump ball what is the call if the thrower in and a offensive player touches it at the same time,like a handoff?
what is the call if the same team touches the ball when taking the ball out.if it is a jump ball if a defensive player touches the ball it you cant say that because both offensive players touch the ball that it is a violation.out of bounds is out of bounds it doesnt matter if your are on offense or defense.ClevelandBrowns#1 wrote:md2020,
There is no do-overs!!! Good explanation by Hoppy and Blockcharge!! It is a jumpball when a player reaches the ball over the line on a throw in and a player grabs it from another team!!! What happens when a player grabs the ball from the same team??? This is a violation on the offensive team, ball to the defensive team. If the defensive team touches the ball as it is released from the (thrower inner) before it crosses the line -warning on the defensive team-If rule is broken a second time then -technical foul, 2 shots and ball taken out by the non offending team @ point of interruption. If defensive team touches the ball while it is @ the disposal of the (thrower inner), by breaking the line then a technical foul is to be called and the ball will be given back to the offensive team @ the point of interruption!!
I had the over and back in my game Tuesday night @ Leesburg vs Hillsboro. Leesburg had the ball in front court and then was trapped, a player from Leesburg leaves the backcourt in the air and catches the ball before he returns to the floor in the frontcourt-Violation (OVER and BACK)
All of you who complain at us, do you see how quick we have to make calls like the situation above??? Yes, we do miss some but not as many as you think we do!!! Know the rules before you scream at us about something that you don't 100% know for sure!!!
In those gyms with a restraining line can an offensive player receive a pass when in between the OB line and the restraining line without penalty?blockcharge wrote:md We do move the spot to get the needed distance most of the time. You very rarely see the ball taken out in front of the scorer's table which is on the floor. We will instruct the defense to move back if we are trapped, but i haven't had to do this for a long long time becausr most of the gyms now have enough room for the thrower in. Now back in the day, and in a few of the older gyms now, you had the restraining line to give you room. If a gym today has a restraining line no matter how much room you have you,by rule, have to play the restraining line.
Hoppy I know! I Know!